Shining Light Awards 2020/21

We are putting on hold our Community Awards for this year, as we want to Shine a Light on individuals, teams and organisations that have made an exceptional contribution during the past year. The Covid-19 pandemic has tested and challenged society beyond all recognition.  It has brought the very best out in our communities and we have seen many people stepping forward to help others, whether that is going above and beyond in the work that people do or volunteering to help out in the community.  There have been so many extraordinary acts of kindness and compassion, we wanted to take this opportunity to recognise all those amazing people who have worked tirelessly during the past year.  

We have ten Awards to give away and we are seeking nominations for volunteers, carers, local charities, businesses, nurses, teachers, public sector workers, anyone who has gone over and above and made a significant contribution to support their local community or an individual during the past 12 months. 

The Awards are organised by Bath & North East Somerset Council in partnership with BSW CCG, CURO, Student Community Partnership (University of Bath, Bath Spa University & Bath College), B&NES Virgin Care and the 3SG.

How to nominate

Help us by nominating someone via the on-line nomination form here. Deadline for nominations is Friday 30th April 2021.  Please read our guidance notes before completing the form.  If you need the nomination form in an alternative format please see details in guidance notes.

The Community Awards 2019/20

Last year, we were unable to celebrate the winners of the Community Awards at the annual event however we did manage to surprise the winners of each award.  We have posted the details of the winners on this page below.  Details of the nominees for each category can be found here.

  1. Winner of the Volunteer of the Year Award - Laura Weston, volunteer from Sporting Family Change, see her surprise here.
  2. Winner of the Young Volunteer of the Year - Luke Nix, from BA1 Radio, see his surprise here.
  3. Winner of the Beryl Dixon Community Leader Award - Sarah Oughton, SWAN transport, see her surprise here.
  4. Winner of the Young Volunteer Leader of the Year Award - Lyam England, University of Bath, see his surprise here.
  5. Winner of the Volunteer Team of the Year Award - Bishop Sutton Community Library Volunteers, see their surprise here.
  6.  Winner of the Young Volunteer Team of the Year Award - The Boob Team Bath University, see their surprise here.
  7.  Winner of the Peter Duppa Miller Lifetime Achievement Award - Mike Hedges, Farrington Gurney Parish Councillor and local volunteer, see his surprise here.
  8.  Winner of the Foster Carer of the Year Award - Sam Tomes, B&NES Foster carer, see her surprise here.
  9.  Winner of the Young Carer of the Year Award - Alfie Banton
  10.  Winner of the Charity of the Year Award - Boys in Mind (Girls Mind Too) see their surprise here.
  11.  Winner of the Business in the Community Award - Nationwide Building Society, see their suprirse here.
  12.  Winner Green Business of the Year Award - Fresh Range, see their surprise here.
  13.  Winner Employee of the Year Award - Leigh Zywek, see her surprise here.
  14.  Winner Employee Team of the Year Award - SEND Partnership, see their surprise here.
  15.  Special Award Winner - Swallow Charity, see their surprise here.
  16.  Special Award Winner - Judith and Derek Shore, BANES Foster Carers.  
  17.  Special Award Winner - Peter Yeates, Double Hills Commemoration, Paulton, see his surprise here.
  18.  Special Award Winner - Crystal Rush, Young Carer, see her surprise here.
  19.  Special Award Winner - William Ayliffe, supporting disabled people to play sport, see his surprise here

The Community Awards are organised in partnership with the Council, B&NES Clinical Commissioning Group, CURO, Sirona Care & Health, B&NES Virgin Care and the Student Community Partnership and Bath College.

Your rating: 

Your rating: None Average: 4 (16 votes)
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.