Heritage Open Day

 

 
A wide range of events and activities take place in the museums and galleries of Bath & North East Somerset.
 
You can download the Heritage Events leaflet on the right.

 

Events for Children

Roman Baths

Family drop-in activities - free to Discovery Card holders.  Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Saturday 21-Sunday 22 July
Saturday 28-Sunday 29 July
Saturday 4-Sunday 5 August
Saturday 11-Sunday 12 August
Saturday 18-Sunday 19 August
Saturday 25-Sunday 26 August
Togas and Tunics
Discover what the Romans wore and dress up in a toga.
10-12.30pm and 1.30-4pm

Monday 23-Friday 27 July
Outbreak of Owls
The goddess Minerva's animal symbol was an owl - join us to create an owl mask.
10-12.30pm and 1.30-4pm

Monday 30 July-Friday 3 August
Friend or Foe?
We believe that the statue of Minerva would once have worn a helmet. Get crafty and make a helmet.
10-12.30pm and 1.30-4pm

Monday 6 August-Friday 10 August
Flight of Fancy
Did you know we have recently discovered a mosaic here at the Roman Baths? Use the Roman mosaic technique to make a fantastic owl.
10-12.30pm and 1.30-4pm

Monday 13-Friday 17 August
Flying Free
Did you know a group of owls is called a parliament? Create a parliament of flying owls by designing an owl mobile.
10-12.30pm and 1.30-4pm

Monday 20-Friday 24 August
Minerva's Mate
Get creative and use collage to make an owl puppet.
10-12.30pm and 1.30-4pm

Monday 27-Friday 31 August
As Wise as an Owl
Create a wise bird in 3D
10-12.30pm and 1.30-4pm

 

 Roman Baths Activity

 

Victoria Art Gallery

Family drop-in activity. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Wednesday 25 July
Felt Flowers and Bugs
Make a felt flower or bug badge to wear.
10.30-12.30 and 1.30-3.30pm

Friday 27 July
The Faraway Tree
Use a wrapping technique to create trees full of blossom.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Wednesday 1 August
Secret Garden
Make a secret garden full of flowers and insects.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Friday 3 August
Pondlife
Have fun perfecting a picturesque pond.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Wednesday 8 August
Bitty Butterfly
Use mosaic techniques and materials to make a beautiful butterfly.
10.30-12.30pm and .30-3.30pm

Friday 10 August
Painted Posies
Create a summer scene with watercolours and special pens.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Wednesday 15 August
Dancing in the Wind
Use wire and collage to make a mobile.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Friday 17 August
Time for Tea in the Garden
Create a teacup card decorated with summer flowers.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Wednesday 22 August
Paper Petal Power
Use different types of paper to make flower decorations to brighten your home.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Friday 24 August
Textured Treats
Create textured rubbings and make a bunch of flowers and bugs.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Wednesday 29 August
Bug Hunt
Follow the bug trail around the gallery and make garden bugs, such as butterflies and dragonflies, using watercolour pencils.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

 
 Activities at the Victoria Art Gallery
 

Fashion Museum

Family drop-in activities - free to Discovery Card holders.  Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Tuesday 24 July
Dress with Structure
Fashion designers use structure to create clothes with a unique style. Design a dress that has an added structure: what does it look like and what does it do?
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Tuesday 31 July
Paper Bag Slogans
Slogans on t-shirts, like our Dress of the Year 2017, have been used to make statements in fashion for decades. Design a paper bag with a cool modern slogan using Sharpie pens and sequins.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Tuesday 7 August
Tassle-tastic!
Get crafty to design and make a tassle keyring
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Tuesday 14 August
Royal Robes
Have you seen our Royal Women exhibition? Imagine you are the fashion designer for a king or queen and create a design fit for royalty.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Tuesday 21 August
Bottle-top Bangles and Badges
Upcycle plastic bottle tops and ribbon scraps to create colourful accessories.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

Tuesday 28 August
Crazy Cravats
Create a cravat with some crazy materials.
10.30-12.30pm and 1.30-3.30pm

  
 Activities at the Fashion Museum
 
 

Guided Tours

Roman Baths 

Above and Below Tour
Explore the hidden Roman, Georgian and Victorian history of the site. Please wear suitable clothing and footwear, the tour will involve a number of steps and uneven walkways. Book in advance on 01225 477773.
Wednesday 27 June, 6pm
Wednesday 11 July, 6pm
Wednesday 25 July, 6pm
Wednesday 8 August, 6pm
Wednesday 22 August, 6pm
 
 

Victoria Art Gallery

Art Store Tour
Explore the parts of the Gallery other people don't reach by enrolling for a conducted tour of the vaults at 12.00-12.45pm.  Free but book in advance on 01225 477232.
Thursday 19 July
Thursday 23 August

Art on Mondays
Free talks for blind and visually impaired visitors,10.00-11.30am.
Monday 9 July - Upper Gallery Collection

Collection Highlight Tours
Discover the stories behind our artwrok on display in the First Floor Gallery with Dr Chris Davies. 1.00-1.45pm. Free, no booking required.
Wednesday 4 July
Wednesday 8 August

Special Events

Roman Baths

T'ai Chi on the Terrace - Roman Baths
Weekly sessions led by qualified private instructor Paddy Nisbett. Sessions at 8.00am. £4 per session, call 01225 477773 to book.
Tuesday 10 July-11 September

Fashion Museum

Bath Knitting and Crochet Guild - Fashion Museum
2nd Saturday of each month, 10-12noon.
Free to attend for most sessions, please check the website for details. All skill levels.

Saturday Sketching
Sketch the beautiful objects on display on display with suggestions of key spots of interest from the Fashion Museum curators. Sketching materials are provided. Ask at the ticket desk. Free entry with Museum entry. 10.30am-12.30pm.
Saturday 7 July
Saturday 4 August

Classes and Workshop for Adults

Bespoke Embroidery: Inspired by 1830s Shawl Collar
Recreate a detail from a beautiful shawl collar in delicate whitework stitches with Royal School of Needlework tutor Lisa Bilby.
Saturday 7 July, 10-4pm

Bespoke Embroidery: Inspired by Queen Mary's Bow Shoes (1935)
Learn how to recreate an element of the shoe in beautiful silk embroidery with Royal School of Needlework tutor Lisa Bilby.
Saturday 21 July, 10-4pm

Bespoke Embroidery: Inspired by Court Gown (1900)
Recreate a motif from the gown using beadwork and surface stitching on silk fabric with Royal School of Needlework tutor Kate Barlow.
Saturday 4 August, 10-4pm

Bespoke Embroidery: Inspired by Queen Mary's Evening Dress
Create a piece of embroidery which replicates the use of beads and sequins to give a stunning effect with Royal School of Needlework tutor Deborah Wilding.
Saturday 18 August, 10-4pm

All workshop tickets £80, plus £30 for materials payable in cash on the day. Book at www.royal-needlework.org.uk/courses
Classes and workshops are held in the Study Facilities. All attendees need to be comfortable climbin two flights of stairs.

 

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

Your rating: 

Your rating: None Average: 2.1 (12 votes)
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.