Heritage Open Day

 

 
A wide range of events and activities take place in the museums and galleries of Bath & North East Somerset.
 
You can download the Heritage Events leaflet on the right.

Heritage Open Days take place 7-10 September 2017, for full details please download the leaflet on the right.
 

Events for Children

Roman Baths

Family drop-in activities - free to Discovery Card holders.  Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Monday 14 August-Sunday 20 August
Before the Romans
Create an Iron Age roundhouse
10am-1pm and 2pm-4pm

Monday 21 August-Sunday 27 August
Mathematical Romans
Investigate Roman measurements and make a Roman ruler.
10am-1pm and 2pm-4pm

Monday 28 August-Friday 1 September
Minerva and Medusa
Create a Medusa headband
10am-pm and 2pm-4pm

 

 Roman Baths Activity

 

Victoria Art Gallery

Family drop-in activity. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Wednesday 16 August
Head of the Dragon
Create a dragon headdress. Ages 3-7.
10.30am-12.30pm and 1.30pm-3.30pm

Friday 18 August
Dragon Puppets
Using a folding technique to create dragon puppets. Ages 6-11
10.30am-12.30pm and 1.30pm-3.30pm

Wednesday 23 August
Enchanted Castle
Be a princess or knight battling a dragon. Ages 3-11.
10.30am-12.30pm and 1/30pm-3.30pm

 
 Activities at the Victoria Art Gallery
 

Fashion Museum

Family drop-in activities - free to Discovery Card holders.  Children must be accompanied by an adult.
Sunday 2 July

Tuesday 15 August
Lacy Days of Summer
Craft a fashion statement from lace inspired by the exhibition Lace in Fashion.
10.30am-12.30pm and 1.30pm-3.30pm

Tuesday 22 August
The Birds and Butterflies
Design summer T-shirts using bird and butterfly motifs.
10.30am-12.30pm and 1.30pm-3.30pm

  
 Activities at the Fashion Museum
 
 

Guided Tours

Roman Baths 

Above and Below Tour
Explore the hidden Roman, Georgian and Victorian history of the site. Tours start at 6pm  Book in advance on 01225 477773.
Wednesday 23 August
 
Behind the Scenes
Go behind the scenes to discover wny and how we care for our collections. Handle fascinating objects, perhaps from your local area. Book on 01225 477773.
Monday 3 July, 10.30am
 

Victoria Art Gallery

Art Store Tour
Explore the parts of the Gallery other people don't reach by enrolling for a conducted tour of the vaults at 12.00-12.45pm.  Free but book in advance on 01225 477232.
Wednesday 23 August
Wednesday 13 September
Wednesday 4 October
Wednesday 1 November
Wednesday 6 December

Art on Mondays
Free talks for visually impaired people,1.30am-12noon.
Monday 11 September - John Eaves: Recent Work
Monday 23 October - Howard Hodgkin: India on Paper
Monday 11 December - William Rose

Fashion Museum

Backstage Tours

A tour of the stored museum collection of historical dress at the Fashion Museum, led by a museum curator. Tours last approx 1 hours. Tickets £8. Book at www.bathboxoffice.org.uk. Attendees must be comfortable climbing stairs. Maximum of 4 people per tour.
Wednesday 24 May, 4pm
Thursday 25 May, 4.30pm

 

Special Events

Roman Baths

T'ai Chi on the Terrace - Roman Baths
Get set for the day with T'ai Chi on the Terrace.  Join our weekly session at 8.00am. £4 per session, call 01225 477773 to book.
Tuesday 11 July -12 September

Tuesday Times Tables
A series of evening sessions looking at objects from the Roman Baths' collections. Includes the oppourtunity to handle artefacts. 6-8pm.
Tuesday 18 July-Tuesday 29 August

Fashion Museum

Bath Knitting and Crochet Guild - Fashion Museum
2nd Saturday of each month, 10-12noon.
Bring along your knitting and crochet!

Classes and Workshops for Adults
Lace Knitting
Learn a variety of lace stitches and techniques with designer Amanda Jones
Saturday 5 August, 10-4pm

Tickets £40 per workshop, plus a small fee for materials payable in cash on the day. Book at www.bathboxoffice.org.uk

Decorative Embroidery
Learn embroidery and gold decoration techniques with tutor Kate Barlow.
Saturday 17 June, 10-4pm

Crewelwork
Learn crewelwork techniques to create a beautiful motif with Royal School of Needlework tutor Deborah Wilding.
Saturday 15 July, 10-4pm

Bespoke Embroidery
Recreate the embroidery decoration from a man's embroidered coat with tutor Deborah Wilding.
Saturday 19 August, 1-4pm

Tickets £80 per workshop, plus £30 for materials payable in cassh on the day. Book at www.royalneedlework.org.uk/courses

Saturday Sketching
Sketch the beautiful objects on display in our A History of Fashion in 100 Objects exhibition, with suggestions of key spots of interest fro the curators. Free to attend wth museum entry. 10.00am-12noon.
Saturday 1 July
Saturday 5 August

Bath Record Office

Advanced Family History Study Day - Understanding Archives
This course is for anyone who has traced their family tree using basic sources and wants to go further. It includes what archives are, how to find them and more. £25, lunch and refreshments provided. Booking essential. Phone 01225 477421 to book and pay.
Wednesday 21 June, 10-3.30pm

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

Your rating: 

Your rating: None Average: 2.1 (12 votes)
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.